Vi Lyles swears in Charlotte mayor
Vi Lyles swears in as mayor of Charlotte.

CHARLOTTE, N.C. — Charlotte swears in its new mayor, Vi Lyles, tonight, as well as new members of the City Council. 

Vi Lyles becomes the city’s first African American female mayor, and the seventh mayor in just nine years

Joining the City Council are Democrats Larken Egleston, Justin Harlow, Matt Newton, Braxton Winston and Republican Tariq Scott Bokhari.

Returning are Republican Ed Driggs, and Democrats Julie Eiselt, LaWana Mayfield, James Mitchell and Dimple Ajmera, who was previously appointed to a council seat to replace John Autry.

Leaving City Council are Mayor Jennifer Roberts and Councilmembers Patsy Kinsey, Kenny Smith, Claire Fallon and Carlenia Ivory.

You can watch the proceedings at the Charlotte City government website here.

Jeff Taylor is a journalist and artist. In addition to QNotes, his work has appeared in publications such The Charlotte Observer, Creative Loafing Charlotte, Inside Lacrosse, and McSweeney’s Internet...