RALEIGH — The statewide LGBT advocacy organization in North Carolina today announced that 50 of their 59 endorsed candidates won in the 2008 election, including all of the endorsed incumbents.

EqualityNC endorsed candidates ranging from N.C. House and Senate races to judicial and executive candidates.

Among those endorsed were Governor-elect Beverly Perdue, Lt. Governor-elect Walter Dalton, Superintendent of Public Instruction June Atkinson, Attorney General Roy Cooper and Secretary of State Elaine Marshall, and others. Two new faces will join the Council of State: Janet Cowell as Treasurer and Wayne Goodwin as Commissioner of Insurance.