meckpaclogoCHARLOTTE, N.C. — A local LGBT political group is congratulating the winning candidates in Tuesday’s general election for local offices.

The Mecklenburg LGBT Political Action Committee (MeckPAC) had endorsed several candidates in Charlotte City Council and local school board races, as well as a mayoral candidate in a Charlotte suburb.

In total seven of the elected City Council candidates were endorsed by the group, resulting in a continued LGBT-friendly, Democratic super-majority on Council. The results will bode well for the group’s future advocacy goals.

Endorsed, winning candidates included at-large Democrats Vi Alexander Lyles, Claire Fallon and David Howard. The group also endorsed District 1 Democrat Patsy Kinsey, District 2 Democrat Al Austin, District 3 Democrat LaWana Mayfield and District 5 Democrat John Autry.

In Charlotte-Mecklenburg School Board races, the group’s two endorsed candidates — Tom Tate and Joyce Waddell — were both victorious in their election campaigns.

For the first time, the group also endorsed a candidate in one of Charlotte’s suburbs. Endorsed Huntersville mayoral candidate and incumbent Jill Swain squeaked by with a win over challenger Jim Puckett. She gained just 50.13 percent of vote — only 27 more votes than Puckett. The race was non-partisan.

Also for the first time, MeckPAC was able to endorse candidates across the full political spectrum. It’s Republican, Libertarian and unaffiliated candidates — Ken Harris, Eric Cable and Michael Zytkow, respectively — did not win their races.

MeckPAC said all of the candidates indicated “they are willing to work with MeckPAC on matters of equality and fairness for Charlotte’s LGBT citizens, students and employees.”

The group added, “We look forward to working with the new City Council, School Board and Huntersville Mayor over the next 2 years to further advance equality and fairness in Charlotte and Mecklenburg County.”

Matt Comer previously served as editor from October 2007 through August 2015 and as a staff writer afterward in 2016.