Mandy Carter

RALEIGH — Mandy Carter, a self-described “out, southern, black, lesbian, social justice advocate” has been named recipient of the LGBT Center of Raleigh’s First Annual Distinguished Service Award. The premiere event was held on Oct. 16 at Sitti Restaurant as part of the 2010 Raleigh is Coming Out festivities.

This recognition is given to an individual who has contributed significantly to the LGBT community through their leadership, activism or fundraising efforts.

Carter is no stranger to North Carolina advocacy. For 42 years she has been championing causes across gender and race lines. She was a participant at the March on Washington for Lesbians and Gays in 1987 and 1993, serving on the national steering committee. She was a founding member of Our Own Place and UMOJA. Additionally, she has been a board member with the Black Gay and Lesbian Leadership Form, International Federation of Black Prides, National Stonewall Democratic Federation, the Triangle Foundation, Equal Partners in Faith, Ladyslipper Music and the Human Rights Campaign Fund; and member-at-large of the Democratic National Committee, having served on both the DNC Black and Gay and Lesbian Caucuses.

She was an active member and former executive director of Southerners On New Ground. Carter also speaks on the issues of aging along with AARP.

In 2008 Carter received the Anderson Prize Foundation’s Susan J. Hyde Longevity Award at the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force’s Conference. She was given the 2006 Spirit of Justice Award from Boston’s Gay & Lesbian Advocates & Defenders for the significant and lasting impact she has had on the progress of LGBT civil rights in the U.S. Carter was also nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize as one of the “1000 Women for the Nobel Peace Prize 2005” which recognized and made visible the peace work of women around the world.

For more information, visit

Lainey Millen

Lainey Millen was formerly QNotes' associate editor, special assignments writer, N.C. and U.S./World News Notes columnist and production director from 2001-2019 when she retired.