Back to InFocus: Charlotte Index…

Charlotte/Mecklenburg County

Civic Life

Mecklenburg Board of County Commissioners
(elected in even-numbered years/six from districts/three at-large)
Charlotte Mecklenburg Government Center
600 E. 4th St.
Charlotte, NC 28202
Regular Meetings:
Tuesdays, 6 p.m., Meeting Chamber

The commission is currently dominated by Democrats and is largely supportive of the LGBT community.

Trevor Fuller, Chairman (D)

Dumont Clarke, Vice Chairman (D)

Pat Cotham, At Large (D)

Kim M. Ratliff, At Large (D)

Karen Bentley, District 1 (R)

Vilma Leake, District 2 (D)
704-336 2088

George Dunlap, District 3 (D)

Matthew Ridenhour, District 5 (R)

Bill James, District 6 (R)

Charlotte City Council
(elected in odd-numbered years/seven from districts/four at-large)
Charlotte Mecklenburg Government Center
600 E. 4th St.
Charlotte, NC 28202
Regular Meetings:
Mondays, 7 p.m., Meeting Chamber

The current council is filled to the brim with Democrats who are supportive of the LGBT community. One of its members, LaWana Mayfield, stands as the first openly LGBT elected official elected in Charlotte in 2011. She is a long-time community advocate and organizer, having worked with the American Red Cross, Mecklenburg LGBT Political Action Committee, Charlotte Lesbian & Gay Fund, the Human Rights Campaign and more. Council’s second openly-gay member, Al Austin, was elected in 2013.

Dan Clodfelter, Mayor (D)

​Michael D. Barnes, Mayor Pro Tem, At-Large (D)

Claire Green Fallon, At-Large (D)

David Howard, At-Large (D)

Vi Lyles, At-Large (D)

Patsy B. Kinsey, District 1 (D)

Al Austin, District 2 (D)

LaWana Mayfield, District 3 (D)

Gregory A. Phipps, District 4 (D)

John N. Autry, District 5 (D)

Kenny Smith, District 6 (R)

Edmund H. Driggs, District 7 (R)

Ron Carlee, City Manager

Other Charlotte/Mecklenburg Government Offices:

Charlotte Area Transit System

Charlotte Fire Department

Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department
Emergency: 911
Non-Emergency: 311
Health and Human Services: 211
Crime Stoppers: 704-334-1600
Victim Assistance/Rape Crisis: 704-332-9034

Mecklenburg County Board of Elections

Mecklenburg County Domestic Violence Division

Mecklenburg County Health Department

Mecklenburg County Sheriff’s Office

State Government

Governor: Pat McCrory (R)
Office of the Governor
20301 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-0301

North Carolina General Assembly
Legislative Building
16 W. Jones St.
Raleigh, NC 27601

Mecklenburg County Representation

House Members

Rob Bryan, District 88 (R)

Charles Jeter, District 92 (R)

Thom Tillis, District 98 (R)

Rodney W. Moore, District 99 (D)

Tricia Ann Cotham, District 100 (D)

Beverly M. Earle, District 101 (D)

Becky Carney, District 102 (D)

William Brawley, District 103 (R)

Ruth Samuelson, District 104 (R)

Jacqueline Michelle Schaffer, District 105 (R)

Carla D. Cunningham, District 106 (D)

M. Alexander, Jr., District 107 (D)

Senate Members

Jeff Jackson, District 37 (D)

Joel D. M. Ford, District 38 (D)

Bob Rucho, District 39 (R)

Malcolm Graham, District 40 (D)

Jeff Tarte, District 41 (R)


The White House
1600 Pennsylvania Ave., NW
Washington, DC 20500

President Barack Obama (D)
Vice President Joe Biden (D)

U.S. Capitol
East Capitol St NE & First St SE
Washington, DC 20004

U.S. Senate

Sen. Richard M. Burr (R)

Sen. Kay Hagan (D)

U.S. House of Representatives

Rep. Richard Hudson, District 8 (R)

Rep. Robert Pittenger, District 9 (R)

Vacant due to resignation in January 2014 of Democrat Rep. Mel Watt, District 12
currently being managed under the supervision of the Clerk of the House of Representatives until the seat has been filled.

— compiled by Lainey Millen