CHARLOTTE, N.C. — The 2014 Out & Greek Conference, hosted by Campus Pride in partnership with the Association of Fraternal Leadership & Values, will be held April 10-13, at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, 1380 Harbor Island Dr., in San Diego, Calif.

It is held in conjunction with the National Cultural Greek Leadership Conference and the West Fraternal Conference of the Association of Fraternal Leadership & Values. Welcoming over 800 participants, it is open to members and non-members from undergraduate fraternity and sorority leaders from chapters and councils across the U.S. who gather to network, share ideas and learn strategies to create safer, more LGBT inclusive fraternity and sorority communities.

Featured keynote speakers for the event include Shane Windmeyer, executive director for Campus Pride, and Kara Laricks, and out lesbian and winner of season one of NBC’s “Fashion Star.”

Early bird registration is due by March 21. Regular registration end on April 2.


Have news or other information? Send your press releases and updates for inclusion in our News Notes:

Share your news with us
Does your organization or special interest group have events or great information to share with our readers? If so, be sure to send in your information to In the upcoming months, we’ll feature one of you in our news notes section in each issue. Are you a part of a Meetup, Yahoo or Google group and do you do something that’s really newsworthy? Do you provide a service for the community or hold fundraisers for worthy causes? Do you educate the public about LGBT issues or concerns? Of course, this is only a sampling of things we are interested in. It’s the aim of these pieces to inform, enlighten and educate our readers about what we’re doing here in the Carolinas to champion LGBT rights, as well as offer resources for those who may be interested in what your group is doing.

Lainey Millen was formerly QNotes' associate editor, special assignments writer, N.C. and U.S./World News Notes columnist and production director from 2001-2019 when she retired.