With only a couple of weeks to go in the 2015 election season, a number of political action committees and other organizations have disclosed their picks for a variety of races across the Carolinas.

In Charlotte, N.C., the Mecklenburg LGBT Political Action Committee (MeckPAC) has announced that it is endorsing mayoral candidate Jennifer Roberts (see story at goqnotes-launch2.newspackstaging.com/38200/). In addition, it has thrown its support to Pablo Carvajal (R), Julie Eiselt (D), Vi Lyles (D) and James “Smuggie” Mitchell (D) for city council at-large, as well as district contenders Patsy Kinsey (D-1), Al Austin (D-2), LaWana Mayfield (D-3), John Autry (D-5) and Chris Turner (D-7).

At press time, they had not announced their endorsements for other contests, including school board and other Mecklenburg town races, and said that they would do so at a candidates’ reception at the VanLandingham Estate on Oct. 20. qnotes now has those race endorsements and shares them here:

Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education at-large positions:  Janeen Bryant, Elyse Dashew, Levester Flowers, Ericka Ellis-Stewart and Amelia Stinson-Wesley.

Town of Cornelius — David V. Gilroy, board of  commissioners.

Town of Davidson — Stacey Modlin Anderson and Rodney Graham, board of commissioners.

Town of Huntersville — Jill Swain, mayor; and Leonard Richardson III, board of commissioners.

Town of Matthews — Jeff A. Miller, town council.

In the Triad area, the Replacements, Ltd. Political Action Committee has outlined its support for the following:

Guilford County — Greensboro: Nancy Vaughan (D), mayor; Marikay Abuzuaiter (D), Mike Barber (D), Yvonne Johnson (D), city council at-large; and for city council districts, Sharon Hightower (D-1), Jamal Fox (D-2), Justin Outling (D-3), Nancy Hoffman (D-4), and no endorsement for District 5.

Alamance County — Burlington: Ian Baltutis (D), mayor; Kathy Hykes (D) and Patrick Mills (U), city council; Gibsonville: Lenny Williams (D), mayor; Graham: Lee Kimrey (R), city council; Ossipee: Billy Carter (U), town council; and Stokesdale: Jaycee Spruill (U), town council.

Randolph County — Asheboro: Tim Greene (D), city council; Gwen Williams (D), school board; and Ramseur: Jay Hubbard (D), mayor.

Rockingham County — Mayodan: Robert Grady (D), town council.

For North Carolina statewide, Equality NC has endorsed the following:

Asheville — Marc Hunt, Julie Mayfield, Lindsey Simerly, city council at-large.

Chapel Hill — Mark Kleinschmidt, mayor; Donna Bell, Michael Parker, Lee Storrow, Jim Ward, town council at-large.

Charlotte — Jennifer Roberts, mayor; Julie Eiselt, Vi Lyles, Pable Carvajal, James “Smuggie” Mitchell, council at-large; Patsy Kinsey (D-1), city council; Al Austin (D-2), city council; LaWana Mayfield (D-3), city council; John Autry (D-5), city council; Chris Turner (D-7), city council.

Durham — Bill Bell, mayor; Jillian Johnson, Charlie Reeece, Steve Schewel, city council at-large.

Fayetteville — Val Applewhite, mayor; Jeffrey Zimmerman (D-7) city council.

Greensboro — Nancy Vaughn, mayor; Marikay Abuzaiter, Mike Barber, Yvonne Johnson, city council at-large; Jamal Fox (D-2), city council; Justin Outling (D-3), city council; Nancy Hoffman (D-4), city council.

Kure Beach — Emilie Swearingen, mayor.

Raleigh — Nancy McFarlane, mayor; Mary-Amm Baldwin, Russ Stephenson, Matt Tomasulo, city council at-large; J.B. Buxton (D-A), city council; David Cox (D-B), city council; Eugene Weeks (D-C), city council; Ashton Smith, Kay Crowder (D-D), city council; Bonner Gaylord (D-E), city council.

Salisbury — Tamara Sheffield, city council at-large.

Wilmington — Paul Lawler, Frank Madonna, city council at-large.

In Charleston, S.C., SC Equality has come out in support of Ginny Deerin for mayor. It has also endorsed Andy Smith and Howard Duvall for Columbia, S.C., city council at-large.

In the Triangle, although there have been no formal endorsements as of now, several LGBT candidates are up for election as follows: Carborro: Lydia Lavelle, mayor, Damon Seils, alderman; Franklinton: Elic Senter, mayor; Webster: Nick Breedlove, mayor. And, in the Triad, Greensboro: Brian Hoss, city council at-large.

Emily’s List has listed Roberts as one of its supported candidates and The Victory Fund has listed Austin as one of theirs.

The Human Rights Campaign had been contacted for the print edition and had either not responded to our query and/or released their endorsements. They are now available and are: Eiselt, Lyles and Mitchell, city council at-large; Kinsey (D-1), Austin (D-2), Mayfield (D-3), Autry (D-5) and Turner (D-7).

General elections will be held on Nov. 3. Check local boards of election offices for absentee and early voting locations and times.

Lainey Millen

Lainey Millen was formerly QNotes' associate editor, special assignments writer, N.C. and U.S./World News Notes columnist and production director from 2001-2019 when she retired.